Phakong, Tambon Nai Wiang, Amphoe Mueang Nan, Chang Wat Nan 55000
This beautiful temple was built by an order of Chao Jettabutrabhrama in 1602 A.D. after he ruledNanfor six years. Its name was originally “BhramaTemple” but it later called inaccurate toPhuminTemple. Its unique design makes this temple become the most interesting temple inNan. The reason is the style of main building which is both ubosot and vihara (Buddhist monastery) that is really unique northern architecture. It is believed to be the first 4-portico vihara inThailandthat has built like it’s on the back of two Nagas. Inside are full of fascinating Lanna architectures and arts. The main pillar stands in the center of vihara has four Sukhothai style Buddha statues placed on the base facing off each four directions of the vihara that stands crossing east, west, north and south. No matter visitors enter which entrance they will face the beautiful Buddha statue’s face. The doors are delicately carved in splendid designs by Lanna craftsmen. This temple is also a home ofThailand’s famous ancient wall murals called Pu Man, Ya Man which appears on the wall paintings, in Tai Lue style. It is considered highly valuable. It depicts legends concerning the Lord Buddha as well as local legends and the local way of life including native attires, weaving and commerce with foreign countries. Archeologists believed that these beautiful wall murals were created during the major restoration in 1867.Opening hours: 6 am-6 pmContact: 0 5452 1118To get there: The temple is onPhakong Roadopposites to the office of tourism.
42 Suriyapong Rd, Pha Sing, Amphoe Mueang Nan, Chang Wat Nan 55000, Thailand
NATIONAL MUSEUM OF NAN
The National Museum of Nan is situated at Pha Kong Road, Nai Wiang District, Amphoe Mueang Nan, Nan. The museum is opposite to Wat Phra That Chang Kham, near Wat Phumin. The style of the building is a combination between European style in the age of King Rama V and the native arts of Nan. It was originally used as the royal pavilion and the work place of Royal Governor Phra Chao Suriyawong Pharit Det and underwent two major renovations; the first restoration was in 1932 (2475 B.E.) when it was used as the provincial hall. The upgrade to National Museum of Nan was secondly made in 1974 (2517 B.E.). The exhibition of the museum utilises windows, natural light, and the airy structure, making all visitors feel at home rather than at the museum, comfortable, and enjoy the displayed items even more. The museum is divided into two floors. The lower floor shows the living of tribes in Nan province including important festivals such as the Life Prolonging Ceremony, the Longboat Racing, and so on. The upper floor is a display of antiques found in Nan dated from the pre-historic age to the time of series of viceroys. One of the important pieces is the left Black Ivory of ninety-four-centimetre length, weighing 18 kilograms - the spiritual significance of Nan obtained in the reign of Phraya Kan Mueang, the fifth royal governor. The biggest part of the ivory has the diameter of 47 centimetres. Some more precious antiques include: coated earthen wares of the 21st Buddhist century from Bo Suak, Bo Suak District, Amphoe Mueang Nan; the Buddha image in Subduing Mara attitude in Burmese-influenced Lanna style; the silver pedestal tray for betel nuts, one of the crown jewels of the last Nan’s royal governor. The National Museum of Nan is open for public every Wednesday - Sunday, 08.30 - 16.30hrs. The entrance fee is 30 baht for Thai citizens and 100 baht for foreigners. For further information, please call 0-5471-0561 or 0-5477-2777 and fax 0-5477-2777
Suriyapong Rd, Tambon Nai Wiang, Amphoe Mueang Nan, Chang Wat Nan 55000
WAT PHRA THAT CHANG KAM VORAVIHARA
The temple was previously called “Wat Luang” or “Wat Luang Klang Wiang” as it was constructed to be a royal temple. According to the 74th stone of inscription discovered within the compound, this temple was built during the reign of Chaopu Khaeng in 1406 to be a place for rulers to conduct Buddhist ceremonies and the Oath of Allegiance Ceremony. The inscription also mentioned that Phaya Phonlathep Ruechai, a Nan ruler, renovated the main wihan (Buddhist chapel) in 1548 A.D. The architectural characteristics of the temple reflect the influence of Sukhothai arts such as the Phrathat in the Lankan style (a bell shape). The base is surrounded by sculptures of the front half of elephants. It looks as though they use their back to support (or “Kham” in Thai word) the phratat, similar to Wat Chang Lom in Sukhothai province.The main wihan enshrines the Buddha image in the posture of forgiveness called “Phra Phuttha Nanthaburi Si Sakkayamuni.” This 145-centimeters bronze statue is cast with 65% pure gold and is believed to be cast in 14th century or during the late Sukhothai Period. The main Buddha image is also elegantly beautiful and representing Chiang Saen style of art and skills of Nan craftsmanship.Opening hours: 6am-6pmContact: 0 5452 1118To get there: The temple is on Suriyaphong Road opposites to Nan Municipality Office.http://www.tourismthailand.org/See-and-Do/Sights-and-Attractions-Detail/Wat-Phrathat-Chang-Kham-Worawihan--4258
89 Mahaprom, Pha Sing, Mueang Nan District, Chang Wat Nan 55000
WAT PHRA THAT CHAE HAENG
Wat Phrathat Chae Haeng is a sacred place to worship, situated on the eastern side of the Nan River which was the former center of the Nan town after moving from Pua town. Wat Phra Borommathat Chae Haeng was constructed during the rule of Chao Phraya Kanmueang (1326 – 1359 A.D.). The bell shape of Phrathat Chae Haeng is assumed to have been influenced by the Pratat Hariphunchai in Lumphun. It is plated with Thong Changko or Thong Dok Buap – a combination of brass and copper. The staircase to Phrathat is in a Naga shape, while the gable above the entrance gate to the wihan (Buddhist chapel) is the stucco relief depicting intertwined Nagas, the unique characteristic of Nan fine art. Phra Borommathat Chae Haeng represents the Year of the Rabbit in Lunar Year. Lanna people believe that travelling to pay respect to the Phrathat of their Year of Birth or “Chu That” would reap them the great prosperity. Opening hours: 6am-6pm Contact: 0 5475 1846 To get there: Wat Phrathat Chae Haeng is located in Muang Tuet sub-district, King Amphoe Phu Phiang. From the centre of Mueang district, cross the Nan River Bridge and go along the Nan – Mae Charim route or on Highway No. 1168 for 3 kilometers. http://www.tourismthailand.org/See-and-Do/Sights-and-Attractions-Detail/Wat-Phra-That-Chae-Haeng--4257
52 Suriyapong Rd, Tambon Nai Wiang, Amphoe Mueang Nan, Chang Wat Nan 55000
WAT MING MUANG
Housing the city pillar, Wat Ming Muang is situated on Suriyaphong Road. The temple was once an abandoned temple where the city pillar, made of 2 huge trunks, was found in the ruins of its vihara. Chao Anantaworaritthidej, the Nan ruler, established the temple around 1857 and named it ‘Wat Ming Muang’ after the name of the city pillar ‘Sao Ming Muang.’ (Sao means pillar) The ubosot was pulled down in 1984 and the new one was constructed in the style of the contemporary Lanna architecture. (Lanna refers to the northern part of Thailand) The outstanding features of the new ubosot include the fine carved relieves and sculptures, by Chiang Saen artists, on the outside of the building; the mural paintings, by contemporary local artists, depicting Nan people’s every life; and the 3-meter-high city pillar, standing in the pavilion in front of the ubosot. The city pillar’s base is wooden carved and decorated with gold leaves. The top of the pillar is carved in the image of 4-faced Brahma; each face is entitled Metta, Karuna, Mudita, and Upekkha respectively. The historical sites and the antiques in the temple Sculpted and decorated with gold leaves, the principle Buddha image is influenced by a type of art in northern Thailand called Chiang Saen Singha Nueng. The image is identified to be as old as 400 years and has been renovated up to 4 times already. In the latest renovation, the craftsman had extended the size of the image to the lap width of 80 inches. The image is called “Luang Pho Phra Sri Ming Muang”. This Buddha image is considered an excellent example of the early Chiang Saen Singha Nueng image because of its beautiful topknot, delicately carved from a gemstone found only in Lanna. The stupa, or ‘Chedi’, is a historical site built at the same time as the temple. Before the renovation, it was constructed in the style of Burmese architecture. After the renovation, the stupa became a Lanna-style one, however, surrounded, at its four corners, by Burmese-style small stupas with Burmese royal umbrellas on top. The vihara is in the style of Shan, or Tai Yai, art mixed with Lanna. The interior features carved images decorated with gold leaves. The ceiling depicts Trailokya or the Buddhist cosmology and the roof is decorated with 34 swan sculptures. Decorated with elephant sculptures, the well, known as “Nam Bor Chang Moop, has an arch roof. The well is important to the community because it is the only well in the neighborhood. In the past, people fetched the water from this well to drink and sell in the market. The well is located at the midpoint of the route leading in and out of the city. Thus, when the commuters were traveling to the city, they would stop by this well and drank water from it, and so did the commuters who travelled out of town.
Yothathikan Nan 2026 Rd Bo, Mueang Nan District, Nan 55000
NAN RIVERSIDE ART GALLERY
Nan Riverside Art Gallery is the large private art gallery which covers the area of 13 rai. It is located on the bank of Nan River. The entrance is just in front of highway (the kilometre marker 20), about 20 kilometres far from Nan city. It functions as a centre of Nan province’s art and culture. It was founded by Winai Prabripoo, a famous Thai artist and native of Nan, who loves art. The buildings were not modified from traditional houses or other buildings but it was his intention to build a new art gallery in the nature-friendly atmosphere for people who come to watch artworks to feel free and relaxed. There are two buildings inside the art gallery area. The first one is two-storey building. The large hall on the first floor hosts large exhibition. It can support more than 80-100 artworks. Therefore, the exhibition to be organized here must be national exhibition or the artist must have lots of art works to exhibit. The second floor is the place to exhibit art works and the accommodation of Master Winai. The other building was originally the old studio of Master Winai. It is located on the banks of the Nan River surrounded by various kinds of trees. Now the building is modified to be the exhibition room which opens for those who never had an opportunity to exhibit their works including students and artists in order to give encouragement to those who create art. Each work brought to exhibit must have unique, outstanding and attractive characteristics in itself. The artworks can be paintings, sculptures and mixed media which are all contemporary art. Most works are exhibited only to let the audience get into art as if they met and got to know more about a new friend whose name is art. Nan Riverside Art Gallery, moreover, is considered as the place to gather power of Nan local people. For example, when there are activities or the opening ceremonies of art exhibitions, each sector in Nan province will come and join including Community Coordination Center. This means the art gallery and other sectors in the province help each other do useful things to society. The people then will come to support the art gallery. Both get benefits from their coordination. Those who come to relax in Nan province should not miss visiting exhibitions of both well-known artists and local ones that will take turns to be in this art gallery. You can absorb the atmosphere among art works together with nice surroundings like beautiful gardens, interior design of the gallery building, Nan River and the enfolding hills. There are also applied art souvenirs to buy such as handmade serge, postcard, book and graphic art works of Master Winai. Nan Riverside Art Gallery opens every Thursday to Tuesday, except Wednesday. For more information, please contact 054 798 046, 081 898 2912, 081 322 912
Chao Fa Rd, Tambon Nai Wiang, Amphoe Mueang Nan, Chang Wat Nan 55000
WAT SRI PAN TON
Created by Phaya Pan TonThe ruler of Nan The Phu Kha dynasty (occupying Nan during 1960 - 1969), the name of the temple corresponds to the name of the creator Phaya Pha Ton, sometimes referred to as Wat Saree Pan Ton.In the past there was a large Bodhi tree on the north and south sides of the temple but now it was cut for construct the streets. Wat Sri Pan Ton was given the name Wisugkamsrima in 1962, the temple has a beautiful temple. The highlight is the glittering golden. Another temple in Nan with beautiful stucco painting, especially the seven-headed nagas guarding the stairs in front of the temple which is very beautiful and looks gentle, lively molded by a Nan technician named Mr. Anurak Somsak or Srisang.Inside the church, there is a painting of the Buddha's history and the history of Nan.Sri Pan Ton temple was the abode of the former grandfather of the abbot of Wat Sri Phan. He is a good monk who always treat a sick people with the spell casting magic and the use of local herbs, the treatment is very good. Especially bones and inflammation of the pores. He has kindheartness for treatment all patients in Nan hospital every day until he death.
89 Mahaprom, Pha Sing, Amphoe Mueang Nan, Chang Wat Nan 55000
Wat Phra That Khao Noi
This ancient temple was built in 1487 AD and is a combination of Lanna and Burmese architectural styles. The old stupa apparently contains a relic of the Lord Buddha. A statue of a famous Thai king is also on the property. A very large and beautiful golden Buddha statue overlooks Nan town from the top of Khao Noi hill.
Nai Wiang, Mueang Nan District, Nan 55000
NAAN WALKING STREET
It is an evening market that provides a Lanna cultural atmosphere that promotes the distribution of agricultural products. OTOP handicrafts from the housewife group to the consumers at fair prices. Adherence to the commercial identity. And free service. (Container made from natural materials) and enjoy the art show. Native music culture from student groups.